Kale crisps

One evening last week, whilst paying for my groceries, the man behind the checkout commented on how trendy kale had become. And he is right. I am delighted that veg is taking centre stage on many people’s dinner plates, and rightly so; kale is delicious, healthy, cheap and seasonal. It is packed full of vitamins and minerals, including iron and folate. It is a better option than spinach when cooking as it doesn’t wilt away to nothing; just this morning I had kale wilted on toast and topped with a poached egg for a lighter version of brunch. Last week I roasted kale and served it with my Asian hotpot as a healthier version of crispy Asian seaweed. It is also delicious as the greenery at a Sunday roast.

IMG_3605

This article is dedicated to kale crisps, as hese really are the ultimate snack; they are sold for a small fortunate in chains like Pret and smaller, trendy delis, but making them at home is easy and cheaper. I’ve had them before as a snack after work whilst cooking supper, or they are great when you have friends round to dinner as substitute to potato crisps. I hope you enjoy kale crisps as much as I do. Serves 2.

 

INGREDIENTS

4 large handfuls of kale, stalks removed

1 tsp chilli flakes (I buy these in bags and keep them in the freezer – very handy!)

1 tsp olive oil

A very generous amount of cracked black pepper

 

METHOD

1. Pop the kale on a baking tray

2. Sprinkle with the chilli, olive oil and pepper

3. Roast at 180 degrees C for 10 minutes until crispy

2 thoughts on “Kale crisps

  1. Have always wanted to try these, didn’t realise how easy they were. Have now made and devoured a batch. Yum! Cheers Kidd

    Like

Leave a comment